the anthropology of us

Mountains, according to the angle of view, the season, the time of day, the beholder’s frame of mind, or any one thing, can effectively change their appearance. Thus, it is essential to recognize that we can never know more than one side, one small aspect of a mountain.
― Haruki Murakami, A Wild Sheep Chase

i find you in a room standing alone
wearing jeans and a simple top
you are barefoot and the room silent

you have pulled your hair to one side
opposite the ear where you replace an earring
your head tilted and your eyes closed

you do not hear see or smell me there
because i cannot be in that room
where the you before me and us stand

i have never been there because this is past
before either of us were aware of the other
but i must imagine this you to know everything

this irrevocable of you and even of me
both now the us of us rendered unerasable
although the you of before me lie nested there

we are the present of the inevitable past
that could have led only to this of us
even though neither of us could have imagined

i find you in a room standing alone
wearing jeans and a simple top
you are barefoot and the room silent

i hope this you of before me are happy
as i long for the you of me and us to be
i cannot stop myself reaching for the curve of you

—P.L. Thomas

